Invincible Blog

Lucky me

Lucky me

I get lucky a lot.

I could have died when I was born. It was -45°C outside, I could have frozen to death immediately. I could have strangled myself with an umbilical cord around my neck. I actually almost did. But got lucky with the obstetrician who delivered my mom.

I got lucky with my mom and my brothers. I can talk to them honestly. I can be who I am with them. No need to pretend. I can share with them everything without being judged. They can always help and I trust them like no one in the world.

I got lucky with my school. I went to a very good school where I learnt German. The school had even an exchange program with Germany which was affordable even for my low-income family. Without learning German I wouldn't have gotten where I am now.

I got lucky with my university. I got lucky with the professors who saw me as an inquisitive and intelligent person. They introduced me to the whole world of different languages, of language philosophy and semiotics.

I got lucky with my workplace. I started off as working part-time. I got paid little but at the time I still could afford going to see my friend to Europe. My first ever trip to Europe organized all by myself. I grew inside the company with the time. My boss is ready to give me a hand whenever I need it.

I got lucky with the people who I met and who have stayed in my life ever since. My best friend who is always there for me even when there are thousands kilometres between us. My friends who travel to see me. The friends who encourage my endeavors and believe in me.

I got lucky with my body. It never ceases to amaze me how many problems I could have had if I had really bad health. If, say, I was blind or I didn't have a leg. Or got easily ill. Or if I got skin cancer. These things never happened to me and , hopefully, won't ever happen. My body is very strong and healthy.

I'm so lucky.

#lucky