Invincible Blog

Iceland: einn dagur eftir

Iceland: einn dagur eftir

Okay, I'm in Iceland. An island that's closer to America than Europe. An island where everything is so expensive and not every tourist can afford to spend time here.

I have 300 euros in my bank account and I know absolutely nothing about Iceland.

My first impression is that this is where I grew up! No, not in Iceland. I grew up in Siberia, which is about 10,000 km from Iceland. But these feelings of cold and snow, I can't confuse them with anything. It's home. I admit, I hate snow and cold with all my heart. But when you grow up somewhere, even if you hate that place with all your soul, still some things from there will seem like home to you. That's life.

The island is very different in that there are practically no trees. I didn't expect to like it. But I really liked it. Maybe it's because I haven't been to a really cold place in years. Maybe I was able to reconnect with the Siberian part of me. When I think about that part, I remember how powerful nature is there, that since childhood you know about shamans, Buddhists and all sorts of legends. You know that if you get lost in the forest you die, you know that you have to dress warmly, that you can't go outside without a jacket. I love how rare the Icelanders' culture is and how they protect their language.

I wonder how many Armenians live here? Has anyone moved here? Would I move here to live?

Definitely not. I don't see sunlight here. It's like it just doesn't exist. I don't know how people live here. I'm literally climbing on the wall because I haven't seen the sun in the Netherlands or here. That's two whole weeks. I'm consoling myself that the day after tomorrow I'll just lie in the sun in Malaga. That's it. I don't need anything else.

#iceland