Invincible Blog

Barcelona: day nueve

Barcelona: day nueve

Rewatched the movie Lost in translation yesterday. I remember that the first time I watched it many years ago, I didn't understand it at all, it seemed boring to me. Now I understand it. The film perfectly reflects the boundless loneliness of two people who happened to meet each other in a foreign country. The kind of loneliness where you have loved ones, but you're still alone, like you're constantly in a bubble and no one can touch your skin. And at some point you meet another person in a bubble, you understand their loneliness like no one else, you also understand that you can't touch each other. The other person understands that, too. But that feeling, the realization of your total loneliness that you can share with another person going through the same thing, that feeling is one of the most beautiful and painful things you can experience.

Imgur me vs. the world

I transform my non-physical pain into physical pain. This morning I specifically went to the beach to run 5 km. Barceloneta is a terribly touristy place, it's literally a sea of people, people speak every language, many have sunburned backs and noses. Dozens of cafes and restaurants, waiters are standing outside with menus and beckoning you inside. There are a lot of people running in the morning, which helps me not give up and run to the end. Guys with no T-shirts with apollo torsos. Girls from the covers of fashion magazines. It's hard not to keep your body toned in that environment. So, I ran a little over five kilometers, but my running was getting slower with each kilometer. On the one hand it is frustrating, but on the other hand, it is important to run constantly, not quickly.

Tomorrow I am going to buy myself a camera to capture all the beautiful places in Barcelona on film. I thought A. would come with me, but apparently he doesn't really want to get to know me any better than we do now. That makes me very sad.

#barcelona