Invincible Blog

Balkans: I-want-to-go-home days

Balkans: I-want-to-go-home days

I don't remember when I arrived in Montenegro. More precisely we, I am traveling with my brother in the Balkan Peninsula.

My mind was all jumbled up. Because there was too much moving and flying in a short amount of time. I remember that I arrived in Belgrade and my plane was delayed for 5 hours and my departure was at the worst time - three o'clock in the morning.

Belgrade greeted me with cold and snow, but the dawn was just marvelous - blood red. There was a lot of snow and all the buildings were gray, it was like I was in a provincial Russian city. This is not how I imagined Belgrade to be. Maybe I wasn't very lucky with the weather, maybe I need to come back for more time to understand, but no, I didn't vibe with Belgrade at all.

I met my brother there and on the second day of my stay we took a train to Podgorica. The train leaves at 8 pm, we chose the cheapest seating, it was impossible to sleep. People were smoking almost on the train itself, it smelled awful, checks at the borders of Montenegro and Serbia were at four and five o'clock in the morning.

We arrived in Podgorica and the first impression was even worse than Belgrade - buildings in terrible condition, ugly advertising, and much more expensive than Belgrade 15 euros for a SIM card with internet! We immediately took a bus to Budva. I didn't know what Budva was, it turned out to be right on the beach. The road from Podgorica to Budva was very beautiful, we drove through mountains and clouds until we got down to sea level. Budva at first glance looked like Batumi, probably because of the dirty white buildings and palm trees. Even though it was raining at first, as soon as we got out the sun was shining and it was very warm. It was immediately pleasant to be there, the city welcomed us. Now we are in Bara, in the worst apartment that can be rented for that price in January. I am very tired and counting the days until our trip home.

#balkans